Elite Eight: Rap Songs Of The Week (8/12/14)

Posted: August 12, 2014 in Dyscyplynary Action, Hip-Hop
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


It’s been a busy week in rap and today I present eight tracks that I really like.

  1. Lil Wayne (feat. Drake) – “Grindin’”

Remember when Drake said that every song was beginning to sound like him featuring himself? Well he wasn’t lying with the latest Lil Wayne track. Not to be confused with the epic “Grindin’” remix or his own take of the song, this is a completely new song for his upcoming Carter V album and it’s alright. It’s more along the lines of being sucked in to the warping beat conjured up by Vinylz and Boi-1da. Weezy himself raps as if Young Thug is in the studio with him and writing his verse via cadence. He makes references to washers and dryers and sleeping in pussy as if it was pajamas.


  1. Black Milk (feat. BADBADNOTGOOD) – “Now Or Never”

Black Milk steady puts out heat monthly and it’s nothing wrong with that considering he had one of the best Hip-Hop albums of 2013. BADBADNOTGOOD is not that far behind with their stream of compilations of original and covered material to great effect. On paper, a union between the Detroit producer/MC and Canadian Jazz trio sound pretty heavenly and that it was. Yet still, they found it to be a new challenge for both as Black Milk flexed his lyrical muscle over something different. This track is set to appear on Converse’s CONS Vol. 2 EP and hopefully it is not the last we’ll hear from this pairing.


  1. Ca$h Out (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Wiz Khalifa) – “Let’s Get It”

I t seemed like only yesterday when many were looking to write Atlanta’s Ca$h Out off for being a one-hit wonder with his breakout single “Cashin’ Out”. There was only room for so many crooners on this side of Future Hendrix and Rich Homie Quan, and Ca$h Out was on his way to the sidelines. Undaunted, he found a way to adapt his sound and reinvent himself with the bombastic “She Twerkin’”. With the bell-chimed claps from DJ Spinz and DunDeal, the record exploded into a top-level club banger of 2014 and put him back into the spotlight.

With Spinz back in tow, Cash brings along Taylor Gang’s Wiz Khalifa and Ty Dolla $ign for “Let’s Get It”. Funny, considering that this song has been out for months but it now has a star-studded packaged added to make it a little sweeter.  It doesn’t pack much of a punch as the former, but it’s Wiz Khalifa’s verse that stands out as hilarious. It’s nothing like him displaying his love for Amber Rose than talking about busting nuts on her face.


  1. Mike WiLL Made It (feat. Young Thug) – “Take A Picture”

There’s an off-shoot chance that we may never see a Young Thug album released until later next summer. It doesn’t stop him from making great loosies and having excellent features that completely makes the song his own. It also didn’t keep him from getting his moment on national TV performing on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. “Take A Picture” is set to appear on Mike Will’s mixtape Ranson, preceding the release of his full-length Buy The World. It serves as one of Mike Will’s more minimal production works, with Young Thug continues to keep himself fresh with quirky lines like ‘My jewelry will blind you like the sunshine/Fuck yo momma and yo sister with the same 9’.


  1. Vic Mensa (feat. KAYTRANADA) – “Wimme Nah

Vic Mensa has been wavering around as the right-hand man of Chance The Rapper as part of the SaveMoney crew and once the frontman for Kids These Days. His INNANETAPE project was one of the more stellar hip-hop releases of last year, but more often than not came off as Acid Rap-lite. He has since branched off and found a definitive sound for himself, which could be further attributed from his touring with Disclosure and the off-kilter beauty of “Down On My Luck”. This time he links up with Electronic/Hip-Hop producer KAYTRANADA for his latest single “Wimme Nah”. The beat almost sounds like it was cooked up from Hit-Boy’s good kid, M.A.A.D. city recording sessions, but Vic sounds glorious on it. Mensa uses this as a calling card for his come up, having the city on his back and riding to the finish line.

  1. Tunji Ige (feat. Michael Christmas & iLOVEMAKONNEN) – “Day 2 Day Remix”

Little is known about Philadelphia’s Tunji Ige from my youthful ears; though falling into this track wants me to hear more from him. “Day2Day” is a recount on the artist’s daily routine, chilling in the basement wanting to make hits for the world to hear. Boston’s Michael Christmas aids in for the remix while he talks about eating breakfast at Tiffany’s before being interrupted by his mom in the morning fantasies. The beat switches up midway to give light to the rising Atlanta star iLoveMAKONNEN, following the based blueprint of hooks over a spazzing club number. Its one track that highlight’s the growing diverse sounds that is going on in the rap game today.


  1. Action Bronson – “Easy Rider”

When he’s not taking bathroom breaks during live performances or cooking delicious rap dishes, Action Bronson is marinating his latest album Mr. Wonderful. “Easy Rider” is the very first single from his upcoming album, with Blue Chips assistants Party Suppliers providing the production. The trio doesn’t seem to miss a beat, Bronson is verbally shadowboxing throughout and keeping himself as natural as he gets. From the sound of it it’s gonna be another fun ride with Bronsonilo.

Though the Magic Johnson line was pretty wild as fuck, but it’s Bronson.


     8. Juicy J (feat. Nicki Minaj, Juicy J, & Lil Bibby) – “Low”

Nicki Minaj and Young Thug are the talk of the town as far as artists gaining momentum. Nicki has found herself on a major “*Flawless” feature with Beyonce and managed to bat 1.000 with her singles (no, I haven’t to listened to “Anaconda” yet). As aforementioned, Young Thug has been pulling a number with the features he was a part and keeps his stock rising. But it is Chicago’s Lil Bibby who wins out on Juicy J’s latest single, outshining everyone on “Low” with a beat perfectly made to match his husky flow. Yet through all of this, Free Crack 2 is not out yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s